Need Help Combine Serial with LED

Hi

Don't know if its ok to post my question in this topic but I'm a complete noob and was wondering whether there is a more simple way of doing the same thing as I have done here (sorry if I'm in the wrong place).

/*This code performs the task of switching an led on and off 
 when a char of value '1' is received on the serial port it also 
 prints the current state of the led either "ON" or "OFF" */

#define LED 13    // output pin where the led is connected 

char old_input = '1';  // this stores the begining value 
char input = 0;        // this stores the value of the input 
int state = 0;         // 0 = led off and 1 = led on 

void setup() {
  pinMode(LED, OUTPUT);     // set the led pin as an output 
  Serial.begin(9600);       //initalize the serial port 

}

void loop() {

if (Serial.available()){                 //check for available serial 

char input = Serial.read();            //read input value and store it              
    if ((old_input=='1')&&(input=='1')){
      state = 1-state;                     // defines the state 0 or 1
    }
    old_input = input;              //input is old store it 
    if (state == 1){                //if a condition is met write the led high 
      digitalWrite(LED,HIGH);
      Serial.println("ON");         //print the state back to the port 

}
    else if (state == 0){           //if the condition is anything else write the led low
      digitalWrite(LED,LOW);
      Serial.println("OFF");        //print the state back to the port 
    }

}
}

Thanks Jon Czudek

Moderator Edit: Split to a separate topic.

if (state == 1){                //if a condition is met write the led high 
      digitalWrite(LED,HIGH);
      Serial.println("ON");         //print the state back to the port 

}
    else if (state == 0){           //if the condition is anything else write the led low
      digitalWrite(LED,LOW);
      Serial.println("OFF");        //print the state back to the port 
    }