Need help connecting serial input from keypad to play MP3 output from MP3 shield

Hi all,

Disclaimer that I am not a coder but have been trying my best to figure this out on my own. I have all the hardware figured out thanks to a friend, but the software has been harder to figure out. Now I’m down to the wire on a project and I need to figure this out, today…

The goal is to re-build a regular, touch tone phone so that when you pick up the handset and press a button on the keypad, you’ll hear an mp3 play. 9 mp3s total, one for each key (press 1 to hear track001.mp3, 2 to hear track002.mp3, etc.). Hang up the handset and it will stop.

I have this arduino and this MP3 shield, and my friend is handling all of the hardware - connecting the keypad from the original phone to the arduino itself. At this point we’ve got it so that pushing the keys prints the key numbers on the screen, as in the CustomKeypad sketch mentioned here which is an example in Arduino IDE.

I have two pieces of borrowed code that compile and do what I want them to do.

The code that runs the Keypad and gives a number output when I press a key (e.g. press 1 on the keypad, 1 shows up in the Serial Monitor):

/* @file CustomKeypad.pde
|| @version 1.0
|| @author Alexander Brevig
||s @contact alexanderbrevig@gmail.com
||
|| @description
|| | Demonstrates changing the keypad size and key values.
|| #
*/
#include <Keypad.h>
#include <SPI.h>           // SPI library
#include <SdFat.h>         // SDFat Library
//#include <SdFatUtil.h>     // SDFat Util Library
#include <SFEMP3Shield.h>  // Mp3 Shield Library

SdFat sd; // Create object to handle SD functions

SFEMP3Shield MP3player; // Create Mp3 library object
// These variables are used in the MP3 initialization to set up
// some stereo options:
const uint8_t volume = 0; // MP3 Player volume 0=max, 255=lowest (off)
const uint16_t monoMode = 1;  // Mono setting 0=off, 3=max

const byte ROWS = 4; //four rows
const byte COLS = 4; //four columns