Need help desining ground traces/zones in PCB

Hi
I'm a hobbyist and don't have formal electronics training. I'm trying to design a simple PCB for my ESP8266 smart lights project. It's mainly power routing + decoupling capacitors + some filters + an opto coupler + a buzzer.

Regarding the PCB design I've read that when connecting components to GND you should go for a "star" design. So that:

1- There won't be any loops like this:

2- The GND from one IC doesn't go to the GND of another because this can create noise.

So I designed my PCB like this (I tried as much as I could manage to connect each component to GND via a separate route):

Trace colors explained:
Red: Signal
Cyan: 3v3
Yellow: 5v
Orange: GND

But I've heard that in multi-layer PCBs they have a whole layer dedicated to ground. Which means you can ground anything with a via and also it helps prevent EMI. Also in single layer PCBs I think the equivalent are ground "zones". Where you basically cover most of the empty spaces of the PCB with ground.

Now what I don't understand is, how come signals don't interfere in this ground zone or ground layer?
Imagine the first image. If the rectangle was filled with copper it would create a ground zone. Would this somehow eliminate the loop? Because to me it looks like a zone means infinite connections and hence infinite loops.

Concerning my own PCB, if I replace most ground traces with a ground zone like this:

Doesn't this basically connect all the grounds together and violate the "star" design?
Which design should I go for? First one or second one?

In a standard double layer PCB it's quite normal to use one side for a ground plane and the other side for a power plane.
Route the rest of the connections normally.

Are you using your EPS on a breakout board? Why not simply solder it onto the board? The 2 mm pitch is really easy to hand solder. Just remember to have no copper under the antenna! (no traces, no plane).