Need help finding right hardware (arducopter)

Hi,

First, I haven’t worked anything with Arduino before, so I have very little knowledge about hardware etc, and I don’t know much about electronics (soldering etc). What I know is programming :stuck_out_tongue:

Anyways, I’m looking to make a quadcopter using Arduino that I can use in my master thesis in computer science. So I have no interest in doing all the programming to get it flying etc. So I was thinking about just using the Arducopter framework and build on from that (if anyone knows of a better alternative of a open source project, let me know :stuck_out_tongue: ). As far as I have seen from the project, it has a lot of what I want, such as a fairly nice mission planer, partly autonomous behavior etc.

So, as I said in the start, I have little knowledge about what hardware that exists, what hardware that works together and so on. So, I need help finding components that I want/need :slight_smile:

I have found this kit that seems nice (description of product is in english).

What I want is:

• Gyro
  • GPS
  • Local storage (SDcard I guess)
  • Video camera
  • IR camera (preferably video)
  • WiFi (want to control using PC. Don’t need to control it as a “normal” RC car/plane/whatever)
  • Battery
  • Distance sensor/sonar
  • Anything else that might be needed

As I understand it, the kit comes with a device to find the direction (magnetometer).

For network I want something with good range, so I figure this might do it?.

It’d also be nice to be able to differentiate between objects and the ground, as I want it to work in forested areas.

What I want is:
Gyro
GPS
Local storage (SDcard I guess)
Video camera
IR camera (preferably video)
WiFi (want to control using PC. Don’t need to control it as a “normal” RC car/plane/whatever)
Battery
Distance sensor/sonar

The kit says that it comes with GPS and gyros.
What do you plan to store on the SD card?
What are the cameras for?