Need help for a project: monitoring aquarium water values and fertilization

Hello, my name is Christian Vari and I am an italian computer science student. I do not know if this is the right section to post. In the case I ask an admin to move the topic in the correct section.

I'm making a project to automatically measure the water values in the aquarium. In a second moment I would also like to add an automatic fertilization model based on the collected data. The idea is to take water from the aquarium, mix it with a few drops of colorimetric reagent and measure the value with a color sensor. Once the data are collected, they will be sent to a server that will analyze them and make graphs and suggest things to do if the values are not suited to an aquarium.

To do this I would like to use peristaltic pumps that are cheap and should be quite precise and to stir the solution a magnetic stirrer. The difficult thing will be to use a single tube to mix and different reagents with different peristaltic pumps without contaminating each other.

I would like to use a MEGA arduino and would like to write directly in C AVR without using the arduino IDE.

What do you think? In your opinion, is it feasible?

Thank you

What property of the water do you want to measure, exactly?

There may be easier ways than building an intricate robot to get your values.

Also here

AWOL:
Also here

yes, but it is a one years old thread... I opened a new one for this reason.

wvmarle:
What property of the water do you want to measure, exactly?

There may be easier ways than building an intricate robot to get your values.

I would like to measure nitrates, phosphates, carbonate hardness, total hardness, iron, potassium and ph.

pH can be done easily with a pH probe.

The others not - that's going to be a massive challenge to automate. There do exist some ion selective probes, but they're really expensive.

wvmarle:
pH can be done easily with a pH probe.