Need help for sending an Email using SMTP

Hi. I’m kinda new to Arduino, so please explain simply for me! :roll_eyes:
I’ trying to use my Arduino to send some Emails, but actually, I’m getting my Arduino to send some serial signals, and on the computer, I get these signals and send an Email using Processing.
I have no problems with doing that, But the first thing I’m trying to do is to send it using command line!
I know we should use this: “telnet smtp.gmail.com 465” the port used is for SSL protocol (port #25 doesn’t work for Gmail) But I get an empty black screen after running this!!
I tried using: “telnet smpt.gmail.com 587” which uses TLS protocol, And I got the appropriate message, after running “helo” everything was fine but when I tried to specify the sender’s Email I got this message: “Must issue a STARTTLS command first!”
I did that and I executed this command: “STARTTLS” just that simple! I got the response: “Ready to start TLS”, but when I tried specifying the sender’s Email, after 11 characters typed, I got this message: “connection to host lost!” and it exits out! …
I looked for some troubleshoot and I found out that we need to Enable SSL and to make sure that allow authentication is Enabled on the smtp client. But I don’t know how to do these stuff! I’m trying to do this at localhost. Anyone can help??

I need some help here please! No one has ever sent an Email with Arduino?? I just need the SMTP configuration! Do I need to enable SSL or something?? Why do I see the empty blank window when I'm trying to use gmail smtp server using SSL???

You're getting a 'blank' screen because the gmail server is waiting for you to start an SSL connection. Telnet won't do that for you and an Arduino definitely can't handle SSL or TLS.

Alternative: Setup a PHP server or so that mails from a form. The Arduino can fill in a form.