Need help getting pointed in the right direction please.

I am learning the Arduino as I develop a beer brewing system. The system will have 2 components, the Arduino which will control the machine and the operator interface. I need to start looking at the operator interface part of the project. My question is what should I be looking at to accomplish this?

I’ve done a lot of searching but the problem is that I’m such a newbie that I’m not even certain what to search for or what I’m looking at when I search.

I’m a PLC programmer by trade and I mostly do machine programming. With PLC’s we often use an HMI which refers to a touch screen that the operator uses to interact with the system. I’ve attached some screen shots of an HMI program. This is what I want to develop to control the system. I want to run the interface on a PC

Is there a programming language that’s more suited to this? I’m seeing Python a lot.
Is there a program I can download that has been designed for this? I found processing and Instrumentino. Processing seems more for graphical art and I don’t think I can design screens like the attached ones in Instrumentino.

What would you guys use for this?

Thanks for your time.
Shane

Active Alarms.JPG

Floc Sys Settings.JPG

Flocculant Screen.JPG

Meter Manual Ctrls.JPG

Images from Original Post so we don’t have to download them. See this Image Guide

13018317e3ed00c7804f5b262fd28e5c58638abf.jpg

3341eae1bfb5c328528422a73ba0611266c90c49.jpg

45d0209f9da95668a00779f1519b195a2acc8af9.jpg

14636172a34d49d12ba4e1fc597d2a3766706668.jpg

…R

For anything as complex as that I suggest you use a PC or a RaspberryPi in conjunction with an Arduino which acts as the interface with the hardware.

If it was my project I would build a browser based GUI using the Python Bottle web framework. I have used it to create a control interface for a small lathe and for model trains.

...R

Thanks Robin2 for embedding the pics and for the input.