Need Help - How do you store a variable declared in an If Statement

Hello everyone,

I am still a n00b programmer, and am working on a project utilizing a resistive touchscreen to take values from a potentiometer. All my components work, but I can’t “store the values” I take in from the buttons on touchscreen.

What I am having trouble with, is I programmed touch buttons via a series of “if” statements (so where it reads pressures on the screen and the if statements differentiate what part of screen it is on, and thus which button is being pressed)

Problem is… Inside the if statement (So imagine you click a button) it reads the analogvalue from the potentiometer. I want to use that value later on in the code, so OUTSIDE of the if statement, but it isn’t saved…

Looking at the code below, I am specifically having troubles with the char’s dx, dy, and dz… I want to do math with them on the "CurrentPage = ‘3’ " but the value is not stored from the other pages/ buttons… (i.e. from inside the other if statements) I try to print them out, and the variable acts as though it was never declared, even though the if statements are set up in such a way, that the variable HAD TO be read before getting to next button…

in the code below, I simply declared the dx, dy, and dz manually inside if statements, hoping to get some sort of math to happen when hitting fourth button, but no luck!! :frowning:

Look for ******************* to find the problem areas I mentioned

#include <Adafruit_BNO055.h> // Gyro sensor specific library
#include <Adafruit_ILI9341.h> // SPI color library
#include <Adafruit_STMPE610.h>
#include <Adafruit_GFX.h> // Graphics library
// Defining tft library and tft() function pins
#define STMPE_CS 8
Adafruit_STMPE610 ts = Adafruit_STMPE610(STMPE_CS);
// Defining Sensor
#define GYRORST 19
Adafruit_BNO055 bno = Adafruit_BNO055(55);
// The display also uses hardware SPI, plus #9 & #10
#define TFT_CS 10
#define TFT_DC 9