Need help Identifying and replacing IC component

Hi everyone,

I am new to programming in general but am very interested and want to start here.

I am currently working on a personal project not directly related to programming/arduinos however I feel this if the best place to ask a somewhat general question. Also i feel that this IC i am trying to identify is the same on the Arduino UNO right next to the USB port.

So far I know it is 32 pins an 5mmx5mm and is made by NXP.

I am trying to make my Key FOB from my previous car used in my new car. The cars are the same year model make and so on it is just not registered to this new car. I have read a lot of places that the only piece needing "replacement" or swapping is the circled in the attached picture.

So what i would like to know is can someone identify what this IC is, what it does (i.e. processor or memory) and where i can buy one?

And for bonus points can you let me know if a new off the shelf IC swap may work without previous "programming" or setting up.

Cheers

https://www.dropbox.com/s/h7ue5junm0xuxvw/IMG_3224.jpg?dl=0

Could be an LPC802 microcontroller, but that's not how they're supposed to be marked, according to the datasheet...

NukinFutz: I am trying to make my Key FOB from my previous car used in my new car. The cars are the same year model make and so on it is just not registered to this new car. I have read a lot of places that the only piece needing "replacement" or swapping is the circled in the attached picture.

Sounds completly dumb to me.

The suggestion is that you can take any old key fob, replace a 'magic' part, and you have a key that will open any car.

I am currently working on a personal project not directly related to programming/arduinos however I feel this if the best place to ask a somewhat general question.

So perhaps find a forum where hacking car key fobs (illegal ?) is openly discussed.

srnet