Need help in reading and parsing serial data?

Hi there,

Im very new at this arduino world, i have knowledge in PICS and Pic basic Pro im starting sow please give me a hand.

What i want to do is ex: on arduino ide serial terminal send “1234;5678” and de arduino see if the 1st four numbers (or somw letters) are 1234 in this case and then read the next four after the “;”
My code have a problem if a put the god “pass” “1234;tefi” it woks god but when i put a rwong pass like example “e3r5;tec8” and after put the god one “1234;ehf6” it stops working !!

Please see my sample code and help me.

Thankz

char pass [5];
int data; 

void setup()
{
  //Create Serial Object
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("ARDUINO ON!");
}

void loop() {

if (Serial.available() >8) { //assumir que o outro byte vem a caminho. 
    for (int i = 0; i<4; i ++) {
      pass[i] = Serial.read();
    }
    pass[4] = '\0'; //end string
    if ((strcmp(pass, "1234") == 0) && (Serial.read() == ';')) {//equal and the separator is good

for (int i = 0; i< 4; i++) {
           pass[i] = Serial.read(); } //get the number. 
       data = atoi(pass); 
       Serial.println("PASS OK!");
       Serial.println(data); 
    } else {
       Serial.println("FAIL");
        }
   }  
}

The problem is that you do not clear the rest of the "wrong" command. You should introduce a command-end character, such as newline ('\n'), and read characters until that character is seen after the parsing code.

if (Serial.available() > 8) {
    do all your stuff
    /* now, read all incoming data until end-of-command, so you know the next character will be the start of a new command */
    while (true) {
      if (Serial.available() > 0 && Serial.read() == '\n') {
        break;
      }
    }
  }

Hi,