Need help programming for my handicapped friend

Hi guys,

I am a total Arduino noob and have no idea what im doing. I wanted to build something simple but found myself over my head pretty quickly.

I have a handicapped friend who is confined to a wheelchair and breathing device. I often take him to concerts and movies.

The problem mostly during concerts is that i cant really keep an eye on his breathing device. He has a panic button that is connected to his home system but on the road ist does nothing. His conditioning has been worsening and he needs help often so he needs to be able to signal me.

I want to connect this button to a arduino so that when he presses the button lights will go on and a buzzer will sound. I can than keep an eye on these lights and if needed help him.

So here is what i need:
2 states that switch on a button
State one: single green LED burning to signal okay with buzzer off
State two: 8 LEDs alternating white and red flashing full brightness and buzzer on

What I have:
-Arduino Genuino Uno
-8x WS2812B LEDs with resistor (working on pin 7)
-Buzzer (5V from FPV drone)
-Connector for alarm button

This is probably very simple but i cant figure it out my self. We are going to another concert this weekend and i would feel much better if he can signal me.

Anyone please help with the programming.
Thank you in advance!

Yes, you are over your head here! :roll_eyes:

Two big problems here:

• You have failed to specify your project. Just what is this button he might press and what is the LED display to alert you supposed to look like? Perhaps more to the point, how close will they be and will they be connected by a cable or are you expecting remote control?
  • You need to describe in absolutely critical detail, the "panic button" he already has. Do you expect to modify it or attach anything to it in any way? If so, will that void the warranty for the service (hint: it will. :astonished: ) How do you expect to deal with that?