Need help programming multiple menus, cursor wont move!

Ok, I am an aspiring electronics engineer. I was challenged recently to develope from scratch a “Climate Control System” for a friend who is working to start their own local nursery. This job will pay good for me so I have to get it done. Basically, for certain things that are grown out of season and must be grown in a controlled environment indoors, I have to develope a system that can handle up to around 3600 watts spread out over a total of 8 different “zones”. Each zone by itself must be “programmable”, as in each zone must be set on certain times for an ON/OFF cycle (like one zone 60 min on 120 min off, another 5 min on 10 min off or whatever). Basically each zone is settable to a custom ON/OFF time.

Anyways, Im using an atmega 328 16MHz microcontroller to control the whole thing, and I am prototyping using an arduino board. Ok well the way I have it set up is it starts off with a menu with 2 options, run or set. Set leads to more menus in which you can set the timing for the 8 different zones. Run will run the settings and display different information like temperature for a few different areas etc. I havent gotten that far yet. The whole thing is controlled via 3 buttons, a left, a right, and an ok button. Its self explanatory, the directions move a cursor through the menus and ok selects whatever in the menu. Pushing both right and left buttons resets the program and returns to the main menu (set run).