Need Help - Programming With Visuino To Control Relay Board From Nextion HMI

Hello,

I have some very basic coding experience and have been working on this project for a while now.

The reason I have decided to use Visuino instead of the Arduino IDE is my lack of programming skills – the Nextion library is confusing to me.

I would like to use this to control pneumatic valves. There are 4 valve manifolds and each valve manifold has an intake and exhaust valve (all together 8 valves hence the 8 relay module).

Hardware:

• Arduino UNO
  • 8 Relay Module
  • 3.2" Nextion

Here is my goal:
I would like 4 dual state buttons on the Nextion to correspond to each valve manifold.
2 momentary buttons on Nextion to control intake or exhaust for the duration of the button press.

This way I can intake or exhaust any combination of the valves.

So far, I have two problems:

• The relays (normally open) are triggered (closed) when pin output voltage is low, therefore all are triggered upon startup and my controls just open the relay switch. I would like this to be the other way around
  • The buttons work as I had hoped (aside from being backwards in problem 1), except when I toggle off the dual state button nothing happens. So if I wanted to control manifold 1, I could, but if I now want to control manifold 2 (I “select” 2 and “deselect” 1 on the corresponding dual state buttons) both manifolds 1 and 2 are controlled until I restart the Arduino

I have tried sending the component ID for the dual-state buttons for both press and release events, but my program only seems to work when the press event is sent.

The intake and exhaust momentary buttons send both press and release events.

Here is my generated code from Visuino:

//----------------------------------------------
//
//        Sketch Generated by Visuino
//              www.visuino.com
//          Version  7.8.2.134
//
//------------------ Source --------------------
//
// Test 2 boolean.owarduino
//