Need help selecting a board

I’m new to arduino and I need help selecting a board.

I would use it for a controller on my saltwater aquarium

Turning off and on power to equipment

Testing ph, nitrate, nitrite, temp, calcium, salinity, and maybe more

Controlling leds

Automating

WiFi

And probably more

I realize that one board will not get me where I’m wanting to go but I just need a good starting point on which board or boards to get.

Any guidance would be very much appreciated.

Count up all the inputs and outputs required, and buy an Arduino with at least that many.

Hi, Joshd123.
Welcome to the forum.

Please read the first post in any forum entitled how to use this forum.
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,148850.0.html.

Can you please tell us your electronics, programming, Arduino, hardware experience?

As @jremington has suggested, list your I/O and if possible what type of I/O signals you will need to read from and write too.

Sensors for testing the range of water characteristics can be expensive and have varied signal output methods.

Have you googled arduino aquarium controller monitor

Tom.... :slight_smile:

I studied Ohm’s Law, kirchoff's law, fundamentals of electric motors, schematics 1, 2, and 3, 12 volt, 110 volt, 220, 480 and 600 volt in the army but that was 20 years ago.

Maybe a little better than basic understanding of a fluke multimeter

Various types of power generation.

As far as programming I used MS-DOS.

New to Arduino

I built a few computers.

I am an accomplished DIYer with hundreds of completed projects under my belt including building high powered Led grow light systems for coral growth, diy automatic rollermat Theiling filters, installed some solar arrays, designed and built one of the worlds loudest car audio systems. I have a good understanding of the basics but the Arduino or systems of this type are not something I have worked with much.