Need help simple timelapse slider

Hello all.
This is my second post, my first was when I was a total noob. This one I still am.
I’m trying to write the code to run a timelapse slider to be run using a “DFRobot” LCD with keypad. I have been searching the net for well over 6 weeks, with no luck.

The slider is reasonable simple, and I can make the changes I need through the IDE. But for this I need to carry the laptop around with me to do so.

The slider is 3m long. It is drawn along by geared belt run by a 12v 8RPM DC motor. Panning is another 12v DC motor at .6RPM which is also geared down with the use of gears I have got out of several printers which should bring it down to .1RPM (or lower). The motors run from relays which both are connected to pulse width modulators to further reduce speed.

I’m using a Arduino Mega as the controller with the LCD stacked on top. The pins I am using for the DC motors are; 47 for the slide, 45 for the pan. 51 for the shutter and 53 for the focus (Controlling a Nikon D800)

It all works well, but I’d like to control the “delay” time for the pins with the LCD if possible, so I don’t have to carry around the laptop.

As you can see in the code the I’m almost there… (Works fine without all the LCD stuff)

There is heaps of info on the net for stepper motors, but very little for the setup I’m using.

//  Code for Camera slider
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
LiquidCrystal lcd(8, 9, 4,5,6,7);

#define RELAY1  47                        
#define RELAY2  45                         
#define SHUTTER 51
#define FOCUS   53
#define btnRIGHT  0
#define btnUP     1
#define btnDOWN   2
#define btnLEFT   3
#define btnSELECT 4
#define btnNONE   5
//BUTTONS
//define button values
const int btnUp = 0;
const int btnDn = 1;
const int btnL = 2;
const int btnR = 3;
const int btnSel = 4;
const int btnNone = 5;

//define button-reading variables
int btnVal = 5;
int adcIn = 0;

//declare button poll function
int readLcdButtons() {