Need help solving gate problems associated with RFP12N10L MOSFETs

I've been using Arduinos for a little over 8 months and so far my experience with them has been great and I haven't had a reason to post on the forum until now.

I have a project I'm working on that will essentially control a 12V 1W LED using one of the Arduino's PWM pins with an N-Channel MOSFET (RFP12N10L). While this seems simple enough I've managed to break the gate on two MOSFETs attempting this simple setup and I'm at a lost as to why. By break I mean the gate remains on and never shuts off no matter what I do. Hopefully someone here can help me figure out where I'm going wrong so I don't blow the remaining few MOSFETS I have.

Here's a diagram of my target environment.

|500x320

My test environment in which the gates became broke was a 5V 1A source with a standard 5v 20mA LED and a 150 ohm resistor connected to the drain from the LED.

RFP12N10L Documentation: https://www.fairchildsemi.com/datasheets/RF/RFP12N10L.pdf

The LED I'll eventually be using will be similar to one of these http://www.ebay.com/itm/121490605226 if that helps.

Any constructive feedback and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. I'm a very visual learner so if my diagram is wrong please provide me with a altered diagram. That would help me out a lot.

Hi, welcome to the forum.

If you have the mosfet connected wrong, a 20mA led might still turn on. Can you make a photo of your wiring ?

I use a protection resistor from Arduino output pin to gate. For example 1k when the mosfet is switched on and off only now and then, or 220 ohm or 470 ohm when PWM is used. The 10k pulldown resistor at the gate can be before or after the protection diode.

About those 12V light bulb replacement leds. Do you know if PWM is allowed ? What is inside ? Diodes, resistors, leds, and perhaps capacitors.

Peter_n: Can you make a photo of your wiring ?