Need help to make Solenoid valve work with Arduino and TIP120 transistor

I am trying to turn off an on 12 solenoid valves using Arduino and TIP120 TO-220 Darlington Transistors NPN. I connected everything as I show in the diagram but my solenoid valve wont work since when its connected and I checked the voltage, it only shows 10.8 Volts, but when I check the voltage without the solenoid valve, it shows 11.98 volts.

|500x262

I am not an Electrical Engineer and have minimal knowledge in the field so sorry if this is a stupid question. I was wondering what causes this voltage drop that prevents solenoid valve from working. Also what is the role of the resistor here and am I using the correct one if its needed ?

I will provide the links for all the parts in case if it is needed.

TIP120 Transistor

Solenoid Valve

Thank you.

I think 2.2K is too high a resistance. The resistor is just there to protect the Arduino. Try 220 Ohms which will limit the current to under 23 mA, well below the 40 mA absolute maximum..

With the 2.2K resistor your Base current is limited to about 2.3 mA. With a current gain of 1000 that would limit the current through the transistor to 2.3A and not the full 5A the transistor is rated for.

Saikedo: I am trying to turn off an on 12 solenoid valves using Arduino and TIP120 TO-220 Darlington Transistors NPN. I connected everything as I show in the diagram but my solenoid valve wont work since when its connected and I checked the voltage, it only shows 10.8 Volts, but when I check the voltage without the solenoid valve, it shows 11.98 volts.

|500x262

I am not an Electrical Engineer and have minimal knowledge in the field so sorry if this is a stupid question. I was wondering what causes this voltage drop that prevents solenoid valve from working. Also what is the role of the resistor here and am I using the correct one if its needed ?

I will provide the links for all the parts in case if it is needed.

TIP120 Transistor

Solenoid Valve