Need help to set a register

Hey.

I am sitting this evning and came upon some small stuff for my model railroad, and I have 2 switchs when then first one is pressed and then released again I need an output to go HIGH until the second switch is activated.
Could anyone help me with that, I believe that I need to setup a register, and the when the first swicth is HIGH it will set the register a "1" and when the register is "1" the output is going to be HIGH until register is set to "0".

Hope that some one can help me.
And yes I am new to this and it is about 15 + years last time I made a program.

Regards RedOrder

This "switch" - is it what we in the UK call "points" ?

Can you post your code - digitalWrite usually works for most people in the Arduino world.

define the pins & stuff, then wire your switches to connent the pin to ground when pressed.

byte switch1 = 2;
byte switch2 = 3;
byte outputPin = 4;
void setup(){
pinMode (switch1, INPUT_PULLUP); // assumes you have IDE 1.0.1
pinMode (switch2, INPUT_PULLUP);
pinMode (outputPin, OUTPUT);
}
void loop(){
if (digitalRead(switch1) == 0)
{
digitalWrite( outputPin, HIGH);
}
if (digitalRead (switch2) == 0)
{
digitalWrite (outputPin, LOW);
}
} // end void loop

Well not much to see but this. So I hope that you are sitting down as you might break out in laughter LOL

const int mag1Pin = 2; // pin nummer hvor magnet switch 1 sidder
const int mag2Pin = 3; // pin nummer hvor magnet switch 2 sidder
const int relay1Pin = 13; // pin nummer hvor relay 1 til styring sidder

void setup() {
pinMode(mag1Pin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(mag2Pin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(relay1Pin, INPUT);
}

void loop(){
if (mag1Pin == HIGH){ Set a register high}
if (register == HIGH) {set relay1Pin == HIGH}
}

Regards RedOrder

What is your concept of a "register?

RedOrder:
Hey.