Need help understanding a loop I am trying to create.

I am creating a circuit where 5 leds consecutively light up. I am fairly new to arduino projects, but I am pretty sure my trouble lies with the if statements I've created.

The code is pretty long, but rudimentary in the statements. I'm pretty sure the best way to understand is just to take a look at it.

const int buttonPin = 12;
const int bPin = 1;
const int boPin = 2;
const int booPin = 3;
const int bootPin = 4;
const int bootyPin = 5;
int buttonState = 0, bState = 0, boState = 0, booState = 0, bootState = 0, bootyState = 0;

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
  pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);
  pinMode(bPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(boPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(booPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(bootPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(bootyPin, OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
  digitalWrite(bPin, LOW);  
  digitalWrite(boPin, LOW);
  digitalWrite(booPin, LOW);
  digitalWrite(bootPin, LOW);
  digitalWrite(bootyPin, LOW);
}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
  int buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);
  int bState = digitalRead(bPin);
  int boState = digitalRead(boPin);
  int booState = digitalRead(booPin);
  int bootState = digitalRea d(bootPin);
  int bootyState = digitalRead(bootyPin);
  Serial.println(buttonState);
  if (buttonState == HIGH && bState == LOW && boState == LOW && booState == LOW && bootState == LOW && bootyState == LOW){
    digitalWrite(bPin, HIGH);
  }
    if (buttonState == HIGH && bState == HIGH && boState == LOW && booState == LOW && bootState == LOW && bootyState == LOW){
     digitalWrite(boPin, HIGH);
  }
    if (buttonState == HIGH && bState == HIGH && boState == HIGH && booState == LOW && bootState == LOW && bootyState == LOW){
    digitalWrite(booPin, HIGH);
}
    if(buttonState == HIGH && bState == HIGH && boState == HIGH && booState == HIGH && bootState == LOW && bootyState == LOW){
    digitalWrite(bootPin, HIGH);
}