Need help with 2 buttons on one Pin

I have been working on an Automatic Transmission Shifter for a while now, and I need some help.

Here is my post that started the project > http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,84997.0.html

Basically, I have 2 switches already installed in my steering wheel that I want to control the gears with. One has an 820 ohm resistor, and the other has a 2.7k ohm resistor. I’m hoping to use these factory installed switches, because there are a limited number of wires I can use that run thru the clockspring (which allows the steering wheel to turn without tangling up wires). If I can use just one wire to one pin on the arduino, then I will still have one wire to supply +5v.

I’m new to this, so I was wondering if anyone can help me rewrite this code, or a new one? I don’t really understand the current code I’m using, just enough that I have made some minor changes.

Here is the current code a member here helped me with (I believe his name was TechOne?). It uses normal momentary push button switches with pull-up resistors, and controls a 7-segment display and two relays.

/*
Gear:    Solenoid A:   B:
 1st               1   1
 2nd               0   1
 3rd               0   0
 4th               1   0

How it works :

1. Initialize the gear at 3 (incase power is interupted to the controller, this
 prevents the transmission from going back to 1st gear at high speeds).
 2. Press Upshift Button to increase the gears.
 3. Press Downshift Button to decrease the gears.

Pinout:
 pin 12 = f, pin 11 = g, pin 10 = e, pin 9 = d, pin 8 = c, pin 7 = b, 
 pin 6 = a, pin 5 = selenoid B, pin 4 = selenoid A, upshift button= pin 2, 
 downshift button= pin 3

7-segment display

1= b,c
 2= a,b,d,e,g
 3= a,b,c,d,g
 4= b,c,f,g

*/

// Arduino Digital pins
const byte outpin[9] = {4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12};
const byte inpin[2] = {2,3};
// Selenoid and Display array pattern
boolean gearone[9] = {1,1,0,1,1,0,0,0,0};
boolean geartwo[9] = {0,1,1,1,0,1,1,1,0};