Need help with 4x4 Keypad Matrix

I got this keypad http://www.elesof.com/electronics/product/4x4_matrix_keypad

Pressing any button in Row1 is not being detected.
While pressing any button in other 3 rows is being detected as the first number in that row.
i.e the detection i am getting is like -

4 4 4 4
7 7 7 7

About the connections - I connected the 8 pins R1-R4 and C1-C4 to 8 digital pins of Arduino Uno and edited the example called hellokeypad accordingly , but I am getting very weird results. I have left the Vcc pin open and not used any resistors in connections because I read somewhere that external resistors are not required with the Keypad library.

I am very new to electronics so please pardon if I am committing a very big mistake. Any possible diagnosis or Any fixes to the issue would be really appreciated.

Akash

Can you show us how it is wired to the arduino?

Are you using the Keypad.h library? Makes it very easy to use a 4x4 keypad.

HazardsMind:
Can you show us how it is wired to the arduino?

Its just connectors from each pin of keypad to digital pins of arduino

CrossRoads:
Are you using the Keypad.h library? Makes it very easy to use a 4x4 keypad.

Yes, I am, I don't feel there is any problem in the coding part.

Would you guys have also wired it this way only? IF anything different then please let me know, I m struggling hard to find a solution

Hard to say without code & without schematic of the board. You mention resistors & Vcc, neither of which are normally used, so that may be hosing things.
You could try swapping the pins used for Rs & Cs.

CrossRoads:
Hard to say without code & without schematic of the board. You mention resistors & Vcc, neither of which are normally used, so that may be hosing things.
You could try swapping the pins used for Rs & Cs.