Need help with capacitive button

Hi,

I have a LED-strip that I need to be able to turn on and off, and also be able to turn the brightness up and down. I want to turn the brightness up while I hold the “button”. This is already working ok, and the on/off function is working fine.

The problem is when i hold, because if the light is ON, I want to be able to adjust the brightness without the lights ever turning OFF. Currently it turns OFF before it starts to adjust brightness, and I have to turn the light OFF and then hold the button for it to start adjusting.

And part of the troubleshooting problem is that I am not using a button, but rather a capacitive sensor, where I use either aluminum foil or just an open wire as the “touch-button” (see Arduino Playground - CapacitiveSensor ). This makes it a bit harder for an amateur to find the solution online.

Please let me know if you need more info, this is my first time asking for help on a forum so I’m not sure what more you need.
Here is my code:
(sorry if it’s messy)

edit: And another small problem I have is that when I release the button after adjusting, it wont settle at the current brightness, but rather the next one.

#include <CapacitiveSensor.h>

int rLed=9;
int gLed=10;
int bLed=11;

int buttonState=0;
int lastButtonState=0;

int lightOn=0;
int brightness=1;
unsigned long startTime=0;

CapacitiveSensor   cs_4_2 = CapacitiveSensor(4, 2);

void setup(){
  cs_4_2.set_CS_AutocaL_Millis(0xFFFFFFFF);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop(){

//touch;
  long start = millis();
  long total1 =  cs_4_2.capacitiveSensor(10);

Serial.print(millis() - start);        // check on performance in milliseconds
  Serial.print("\t");                    // tab character for debug window spacing

Serial.print(total1);                  // print sensor output 1
  Serial.print("\t");

Serial.print(brightness);              //These are just so I have a clue on whats going on
  Serial.print("\t");

Serial.print(lightOn);