Need help with cleaning up my code and few other things.

Okay first off I’m new to this whole thing like less then a week old, but willing to learn.

I have made a setup with 2 thermistors and a DHT11. One thermistor is on a mini board and covered by a small Tupperware bowl to keep the moving air from ceasing big jumps. The other is on the main big board with the 16*2 LCD that one is not covered. The DHT11 is plugged strait into the Mega 2650 pins both data and the power.

Be that as it may it works very well. What I would like is if some of you could look at my code and help me get it organized better.

The 2nd thing is to see if you could help show me how to make it work with the millis() function and help me understand how it works and why it works so that I can better use it from here on in.

3rd I wanted to see if it’s possible to make a custom library that hold a lot of the stuff in this code that really should be function calls like in a real app would do. If so could you please point me to some good places to start reading on how to go about doing that?

#include <DHT.h>
#include <DHT_U.h>

#define DHTPIN 8
#define DHTTYPE DHT11
DHT dht(DHTPIN, DHTTYPE);

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

int tim = 50;                       //the value of delay time
// initialize the library with the numbers of the interface pins
LiquidCrystal lcd(4, 6, 10, 11, 12, 13); // set the pins for the LCD
byte customChar[] = { //this is where I put my hand made deg symbol I made
  B00100,
  B01010,
  B01010,
  B00100,
  B00000,
  B00000,
  B00000,
  B00000
};
void getTemp(float * t)
{

// Converts input from a thermistor voltage divider to a temperature value.
  // The voltage divider consists of thermistor Rt and series resistor R0.
  // The value of R0 is equal to the thermistor resistance at T0.
  // You must set the following constants:
  //                  adcMax  ( ADC full range value )
  //                  analogPin (Arduino analog input pin)