Need help with code logic

Hello! I’m relatively new to programming and I’m working on a project for which I’m having trouble coming up with logic for a part of the code.

Here’s what I want to achieve:
an odometer and speedometer for my cycle.

A hall sensor detects when my bike wheel makes one revolution. a variable NUMREV is incremented with each revolution (and then multiplied with circumference to give distance). the distance is then displayed on a oled display.

now, when a button is pressed, the screen is changed to show speed, instead of showing distance.

the distance part, I achieved. the speed part I was not able to achieve and I need your expert help.

here’s the problematic part of the code ( the entire code, should you need it, is at the end.)

when the button is pressed, SCRSTATE value changes from 0 to 1 and the programmer starts to calculate speed and displays it.

else if (SCRSTATE == 1) //button is pressed, screen is switched to display speed
  {
    PREVNUMREV = NUMREV;  //store the current number of revolutions
    PREVMILLIS = millis();

if(millis() - PREVMILLIS == 1000);  //one second later
    {
    NUMREVDELTA = NUMREV - PREVNUMREV;   //difference in number of revolutions 
    DISTDELTA = (WHEELCIRC*NUMREVDELTA); //distance that was covered in one second
    SPEED = DISTDELTA;  //speed in meters per second
    display.clearDisplay();
    display.setCursor(20,20);
    display.setTextSize(3);   
    display.setTextColor(SSD1306_WHITE);
    display.print(SPEED);                              //print speed on display
    display.display();
    }

now I know what the problem is. the if statement is evaluating to false. so the Arduino skips this step.
but I don’t know a solution

when the button is pressed, I need the Arduino to store current number of revolutions, then continue counting the number of revolutions (do nothing else) , then one second later, subtract the number of revolutions for previous number of revolutions.