need help with millis function

I’m a beginner to arduino and all I can really do is play with LEDs. But I’m trying to make a bike speedometer without all the stuff the internet says I need. I’m gonna set up some wires so every time the bike wheel goes around, the circuit gets completed. I want to the arduino to sense how many times the circuit gets completed per second then multiply the amount of times by 85, that’s how many inches my wheel is around, so the arduino gets how many inches per second I’m going. Then, I will convert that to miles per hour using math. It keeps showing up with zero though and I think I’m using the millis function wrong. I don’t know for sure though. Here is my code:

const int measurePin = 2;

void setup() {
  pinMode(measurePin, INPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  int count = 0;
  while (millis() <= 1000){
    if (digitalRead(measurePin) == HIGH){
      count++;
  }
  }
 count = count * 85;
 Serial.println(count);
}

while (millis() <= 1000)This will work only during the first one second after you power up your Arduino.

I recommend that you study this tutorial on using millis(): Blink without delay() explained line-by-line

0 * a number is still 0.

Are you sure pin is going high?

Also, jremington is correct, that will run once and each time after it will print 0. So 2 possible issues. The issue that jremington pointed out, needs to be fixed regardless.

1. Pin is never going high.
  2. First time you get a value, each time after you get 0.

I_LIKE_GRAPES:
I’m a beginner

I_LIKE_GRAPES:
without all the stuff the internet says I need.

Nothing like setting yourself up for failure right off the bat.