Need help with switch case for triggering only once until prompted again

Hello, I'm rather new with this so for anyone willing to take the time to help me with this issue, could I ask for an explanation or rationale behind why / how something is / should be done? I would sincerely appreciate your effort in assisting my learning.

So I have a sketch with several switch cases triggered from a simple GUI, for the most parts I can get my cases to loop on themselves which is what I desired (I'm still not too sure about the logic of why that works) but when it comes to running only once I'm stumped, my logic or argument is definitely wrong but I can't seem to figure it out.

Case 6 is where I would like to have it trigger just once, is there something I can do to have it perform once till the next time the case is called?

What happens now is that when Case 6 is triggered the LED remains HIGH indefinitely.

Very much appreciate everyone's input

//----------CONSTANTS

const int thisPin = 13; //assigning the variable "thisPin" the number 13

//----------VARIABLES
int val;  // declaring 'val' from Processing as an integer
long previousMillis = 0;  // declaring variable previousMillis as 0
long interval_1 = 1000; // declaring variable of 'interval_1' = 1000 ms
long interval_5 = 5000; // declaring variable of 'interval_5' = 5000 ms
long interval_10 = 10000; // declaring variable of 'interval_10' = 10000 ms

long startTime = 0;
long oneMinute = 60000;
bool ledState = LOW; // declaring the state of LED as false = off

void setup() {

pinMode(thisPin, OUTPUT);  //setup indicating the mode of the pin named 'thisPin' as OUTPUT
digitalWrite(thisPin, ledState);  // setup declares that at the start of the program the state of the LED is in the state indicated 
                                  // as per bool ledState = false;
Serial.begin(9600);                                  

}// end setup

void loop() {