Need help with Xbee's connected to Arduino for controlling Relays

Hi Arduino fanatics,

This problem / question should have been asked a million times i guess, but i cannot find any answer to my question. It frustrates me somehow :~
I really need some help here. I'm a complete noob in programming, but wiring and electronic stuff is no problem for me.

My setup is: 2 x Arduino Uno R3 / 2 x Xbee Series 1 / 2 x SF Xbee Explorer Regulated / 6-8 Relays / Bunch of pushbuttons

I have wired everything and connected. The Xbee's are communicating with each other, so this is not my problem.

The case is, that i want to control 6-8 Relays wireless with my Xbee's and arduino's, with just a push of the corresponding button on the transmitter, but i cannot get the code done. I tried a doorbell examples, but they do not work, if i modify them for use with multiple "doorbells (Relays)". They don't need a delay time or such. Just as long as i press the button, the relay needs to be closed. (It's for a claytrap release system)

Knowing that many of you would say, that Xbee could handle this alone, without a microcontroller, or that Xbee is overkill. But this setup will get other extra's over time, like sensors and a LCD display to show data.
These things are not relevant at the moment. I have to start with the buttons and the relays.

Transmitter: 6-8 Buttons --> Arduino --> Xbee explorer regulated --> TX Xbee
Receiver: RX Xbee --> Xbee explorer regulated --> Arduino --> Relays

I sadly just don't get the hang of the programming stuff in Arduino. So if anybody would be so kind, and help me with this getting to work? Working on this for two weeks now, day and night, but i do not understand how it's done :blush: =(

What should i need to modify / add in the code used here Arduino Forum , to use more inputs and outputs?

So please, help this noob on his way with examples or sketches for controlling multiple relays with pushbuttons. Thanks very much :slight_smile: