Need pointers on type of maths for a multi input, multi output control system

Hi team, I think I'm in over my head so thought I'd pose a question here to try and get on the right path.

I've installed a greenhouse recently and thought regulating the temperature and humidity would be an interesting arduino project.

I started playing with PID logic but quickly realised a SISO solution wasn't going to work. What I have is a PWM fan blowing in, PWM fan blowing out, and a relay controlled pump for a misting system. I'm using a couple of DHT22 sensors inside and out to check temp and humidity environmentals.

I made some progress with PID logic but then got stuck in a big if/else structure trying to get smart about whether to blow air in and/or out depending on relative and target temp and humidity in conjunction with running the misting system.

I'm not looking for code, rather the kind of maths I should be using to build a suitable control model.

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Would not the amount of air going out simply equal the amount going in, bar barometric changes? :roll_eyes:

Paul__B:
Would not the amount of air going out simply equal the amount going in, bar barometric changes? :roll_eyes:

The idea is that I don't run the inward fan if the humidity outside is higher than inside AND inside is above the set point.

Likewise, I don't want to run fan inward to reduce temp if outside is greater than inside AND inside is above the set point, and vice versa.

It obviously isn't a fully sealed system but I don't want to exacerbate temp or humidity issue using overly simple logic.

Paul is right - your intake and exhaust are NOT independent. When you blow air out where does the air to replace it come from? Yes - from outside.

You can implement PID control and there is a very good reference here that shows how you can do it with an arduino.

Dont be put off by the math. Its DISCRETE calculus dead easy to implement in code