Need some help with DHT22 Sensor

I’m in need of some assistance. Attached is the full code (its a variation of Billy’s Aquaponics Controller). I sliced it and diced it and am using it as a base. I have a ton of work to do it and its very rough. Problem is- I’m new at Arduino so biting off more than I can chew. My hope is to dissect this and get it straight a piece at a time. I spent a great deal of time getting libraries and such right so it compiles and have fixed quite a few errors. Problem I am having now is with the DHT22 sensor. If I load code with nothing but the sensor (ie the example in IDE), it works fine. I even stripped everything off the attached code and left just the sensor and the “main_scr” code and it works. When I attempt to do anything else (ie add it to more code), I get Zeros for T/H. I’m not getting errors so I think this is a timing issue. Is there a better library or better way of pulling temp and humidity? I do have a 10K resistor on it. Any help is greatly appreciated.

ACL_05182017.ino (35.4 KB)

Please post your example of "anything else" on top of the basic example sketch, that is causing the problem. It's a thousand times simpler than trying to plow through a massive aquarium sketch.