need some help with project using servo-motors and light sensors

Hi guys, i’m new here, and generally quite new to arduino.

I need some help with a project i’m doing:

It’s basically a servo-motor that’s connected to three light sensors.

The light sensors will be attatched to three lights on a toy, only one light will be active at one time.

Each light sensor will provide the servo-motor with a different funciton, the left sensor will make the servo turn clockwise, the right sensor will make the servo turn anti-clockwise, and the centre servo will make the servo stop moving. It’s fairly simple.

Like i said though, I’m really new to arduino, and i’m a bit lost when it comes to the coding aspect, so I could really use some help and guidance there.

I’ve also posted a diagram of how I’ve wired it, I think it’s right, but i’m quite unsure.

Anyway, thanks for reading, hope you can help :slight_smile:

Hi, A separate power source for your servo/s is one thing to consider, see the links in my signature for some background. Other than that have a read of the oomlout beginners guide for some servo and light sensor examples which you should be able to combine to achieve your goal.

http://nedx.org/src/guide/2/NEDX-EG-OOML-WEB.pdf

Duane B

rcarduino.blogspot.com

Thanks man, that guide’s really helpful. I’m gonna start working on the code, and i’ll get back to you.

I’m not really sure what you mean, regarding the separate power source for my servo though, and how it will affect my project?

Read this

http://rcarduino.blogspot.com/2012/04/servo-problems-with-arduino-part-1.html

then watch this

http://rcarduino.blogspot.com/2012/04/servo-problems-part-2-demonstration.html

Rcarduino.blogspot.com

These examples for coding don't help me, sorry. I can't use the net. framework/netduino for my coding. Only the standard arduino for my college project.

The examples are all standard Aduino hardware and software.

Duane B