NEED SUPPORT: Developing Code for an ARDUINO RFID DOORLOCK with Data Logging

Hi Im new to arduino and Im trying to use it for my undergrad project which is an RFID doorlock with Data Logging. Im using 125Khz RFID reader (passive tags) and an arduino clone i made with an atmega8L MCU.. I'll be using a servo motor to drive a deadbolt lock.

Im using a RFID reader kit and will use its tx for reading the tags..

Im on the process of developing the code and I know it is a common project

Any help will be much appreciated.

Advance thanks to everyone.

THe first thing you should do is write some use cases, small stories how the system is used, and what it does.

Use case 1 - the trusted person

1.1 person takes RFID card and holds it near the reader. 1.2 The door opens.

Under the hood a lot of steps happen a) The card is read into the system. b) The number is compared against known numbers c) The number is written to the log together with a time stamp d) The servo opens the door e) after 10 seconds the servo closes the door f) wait for next card

There are several more usecases - the untrusted person - the person without a card - add a trusted number - remove a trusted number - read logfile - clear logfile - ....

From writing these usecases down you get a precise feeling what the system should do in what order. Furthermore it becomes clear what kind of datastructures / classes you might need - A clock - A list of trusted numbers etc.

Hopes this helps

Any help will be much appreciated.

Each type of RFID reader has different output. You'll need to know how much data your RFID reader outputs, in what format, in order to read that data. You didn't define which RFID reader you are using, so we can't help you.

The process for logging the data depends on where you are logging the data. PC? SD card? Ethernet? You didn't say, so, no help there, either.