Need to communicate with arduino without being able to change the Source Code

Hello,

So I have a weird project. I'm not an expert by any stretch of the word so please excuse me if the question is stupid.

To be able to get the gist of what I want to do I'll just tell you the project itself.

I'm creating a safe that only opens in preset times. The uses for this aren't something I'm comfortable with sharing but the gist is that I'm trying to control certain habits.

Since I want something practical and cheap I went the the absolute cheapest simplest option which only consists of a stepper motor and the arduino. It is controlled via serial and whenever I want to open the safe I will connect it via USB to my phone. It should check the time and then open if the time is right. After it opens it lets me set the next time it should open and then it closes.

Sounds simple enough. Until I was hit with two realizations. First is that the arduino has no clock module built in. And second is that I can just connect the arduino and upload a different source code to open it any time. Now I really don't trust myself not to open the safe randomly unless it would take me a lot of work (+2 hours). preferably the only way to open should be when it is time or if I physically break it (and with this thread as a proof.. I'm not the best hacker around so it doesn't have to be NSA approved).

The Safe itself and how to assemble it isn't a problem, neither is writing the code which took me less than one hour of copy pasting and modifying. But I still can't solve the two problems mentioned above.

The solutions I came up with (which are all impractical/expensive IMHO) and I'd love easier ones I'm sure exist.

1- Connect the arduino to the internet and control it that way (expensive).
2- Connect it via bluetooth (still expensive).