Need to get a signal from led but only when constantly on

I have a piece of equipment that illuminates an LED when it is on, I want to use the LED being on as an input to the Arduino as its the only way I can pickup a signal from the equipment.

but I have a problem:

When the equipment is in normal operation the LED is illuminated constantly but if a fault develops the LED flashes on/off every 500mS.

I do not want the Arduino to do anything if the LED is flashing Only when the LED is on steadily should the Arduino run.

I am very new to coding so don't know where to start with this so any help very much appreciated

So, if the LED is illuminated for a period of, say 1 second, that is enough for you. Try something like this (untested)

unsigned long ledDetectedMs = 0;
int ledPin = 5 ;  // your choice
boolean lastLedStatus = LOW ;

setup() {
    pinMode( ledPin , INPUT ) ;
}

loop() {

if ( ledPin == HIGH &&  lastLedStatus == LOW) {
      ledDetectedMs = millis() ;
   }
   else if ( ledPin == LOW ) {
      ledDetectedMs = 0 ;
   } 
   if ( ledPin == HIGH  &&  millis() - ledDetectedMs > 1000UL  && ledDetectedMs != 0 ) {
       // equipment ON
   }
   else {
      // equipment OFF
   }
   lastLedStatus = ledPin ;
}

Are you physically going to connect the LED to the Arduino? You first of all need to know how it is wired in the device. Have you figured that out?

Next you need to figure out which voltage levels you will receive. Anything above 5V blow up the Arduino. There is also a chance that the voltage level difference is not high enough for the Arduino to determine if the LED is on or if the Led is off.

Maybe it might be better to use a LDR or photo transistor to detect the light

Once you have the hardware side sorted, you can use millis() to do time measurements.

Using an average (over a certain time period) might be a good way to go as well. I second the photo sensor as something to consider.