Need to verify my idea is sound.

I have a new project I am working on and I would like to verify that my plan is sound. I am a programmer so when it comes to the code side of things I have no problem. But on the hardware side I need to make sure I am understanding things correctly.

I am going to make some animated LEDs. I plan on using three TLC5947 chips to control 24 rgb leds. I have the arduino communicating with the tlcs and doing some basic animations (solid color, fading, and random). I have a 4 button wireless remote I am using to cycle through colors and animations. Now I want to go to the next level.

I have been using a bare bone kit because the container I can put the arduino in is not very wide. the next step is I want to have frame based animation. The simple animations can be done in code, but others that I want to do will be easier if I can specify frames and delays.

So my idea for this, due to the arduino memory limitations, is to store the frame based animations on a microsd card. the file format will be simple. The first two bytes contain the number of frames and some 1 bit flags. The next section of bytes is one byte per frame specifying how long the frame will display in milliseconds. the rest of the file will be the frames. I have two formats either one byte per led or 3 bytes per led (one of the flags will determine this).

For hardware I plan on using this microsd adaptor and this library to do what I need.

With the 1k of memory the arduino hs that isn't enough to store animations more than about 30 frames int he worst case scenario. So I need alternate storage. After reading this blog I think I can figure out how to read and write from the 25AA512 chip. 64kbytes should be plenty of space.