Negative and positive output for Arduino Pro Mini

Hello,

I am new to the arduino world, but I trying to write a sketch for an arduino pro mini that can output 20mA of current from a 9v source what items would i need and also how can you convert it to a negative output?

Thank you
KJ

int pinNode_0 = 2;
int pinNode_1 = 3;
int pinNode_2 = 4;
int pinNode_3 = 5;
int pinNode_4 = 6;
int pinNode_5 = 7;
int pinNode_6 = 8;
int pinNode_7 = 9;
int pinNode_8 = 10;
int pinNode_9 = 11;

When you find yourself writing stuff like that, it's time to look at arrays.

output 20mA of current from a 9v source

How is that program related to your intended function?

Hi jremington,

I am not sure what you mean, to which program are you referring and I intend for the arduino to send out a small positive or negative charge.

Thank you,
KJ

The arduino cannot put out a "charge" it only has digital outputs that are 5 V positive. You need external hardware for anything else.

Thank you KeithRB, would you know what external hardware i would need? maybe a voltage convertor or regulator?

If your grounds are isolated, a 9 V source and 2 relays are all you need. However, you will only get 20 mA at a load resistance of 450 ohms. At any other resistance, something has got to give, either the 9 V or the 20 mA.

a quick search and found these hardware components for the task 0 -5 to 4 -20 mA

http://www.szsunyuan.com/products/html/ProDetail_53.html

Thank you Ductor

I am not sure what you mean, to which program are you referring

I will try to be a bit more clear.
In your first post, you included a program.
Does the program you posted have anything to do with your question?

Oh Sorry, yea it does I wanted to know how would i write out the sketch to convert 9v to 20mA.

Thank you Jremington

You will also need a filter between the pwm output and the converter.
ie, with a pulse signal with 50% duty cycle to make a 2.5v dc signal.