Neighbors dog barking

Friends:

I am new to this and new to tinkering. SO please be patient if possible.

My neighbor's dog has a barking problem. We live in an apartment. Their door is directly across the hall from my apartment.

What I noticed is that he stops barking when he hears a loud car horn. What I did was wired a car horn to a transformer and when he barks I press a button. What I notice is that he stops barking for a good 2 hours. During this time, I am able to concentrate on my work. By the way. The neighbor is not home when this is happening.

What I would like help with is wiring an Arduino to sense the noise and activate the horn for 2 or 3 seconds.

I do not know where to start. So if you can help me start, that would be nice. Thank you!

I have an Arduino Uno and mini. I have a 12v power supply and a siren.

Detecting a dog bark is more difficult than you might think...

You could try the [u]EasyVR[/u] which can be "trained" to recognize certain words. But, I have no idea if it would work with a dog bark or how many false alarms and misses you'd get.

In general, "voice recognition" requires lots of processing power, although not as much with a limited vocabulary. Dragon Naturally Speaking runs on a PC or Mac. Siri and Alexa run on powerful servers.

If you can detect the bark it's easy to turn-on just-about anything with a relay, and the on-time is easy to program. (Actually it requires a relay driver circuit or a relay board with a built-in driver because the Arduino can't directly drive a relay coil.)

It would be a lot easier for you to rig-up a pushbutton. You could be the bark-detector and it wouldn't require a microcontroller or programming.

Are there any other neighbors that might be annoyed by a horn/siren?

And after awhile, the dog may get used to the noise and it may not work...