NEMA 17 axial shaft load ?

I am not an expert in robotic.
I am currently working a new prototype display window. The concept is to give a 360° vue of the displayed object. We plan on hanging the object to 2 threads that would be somehow attached to the motor in the upper part of the display.
What is the maximal load that I can hang from my motor shaft ( in the axial direction) without slowly damaging my motor? (I didn't find this info in the datasheets)
thx

The stepper will probably stall before it damages itself too much.

What sort of weight are we talking about anyway as that will help define a few things.
Need more info really and if it is too much weight you could also employ a bottom motor too maybe.

Could you also take a few moments to Learn How To Use The Forum.

Other general help and troubleshooting advice can be found here.
It will help you get the best out of the forum in the future.

rgoffard:
What is the maximal load that I can hang from my motor shaft ( in the axial direction) without slowly damaging my motor? (I didn't find this info in the datasheets)

If it's not in the datasheet you will need to contact the manufacturer. I doubt if there is any general answer as everything depends on the type and quality of the bearings in the motor.

As @ballscrewbob has said, please tell us the weight you are planning to hang off the motor.

Maybe the practical answer is "suck it and see" :slight_smile: The worst that can happen is that you need to replace the motor.

...R

Thx for your input,
Sure I could kust test it, but I need to know how this will behave in time. That display is gonna be installed far away from me and I want to avoid maintenance overthere.

For this first occurence I m going to hang around 500g on the shaft... But I d love to design something more versatile and be able to hang object as heavy as 1Kg in the future without replanning a design with a gear system.