Neophyte creating high school Arduino curriculum

I have no experience with microcontrollers, but am a decent programmer. I need some advice on how/what to teach myself, then others.

I work at a science museum where we run day and week long camps for supplementary science education from pre-kindergarten to 9th grade. Currently I teach Lego Mindstorms robotics (including 24 First Lego League competition teams), a 3d modeling class, and a series of camps on video game programming. Excluding the FLL teams, all of the classes I currently teach are 5 days long, 3 hours a day. Class duration can be tailored as appropriate though (ie, to fit in on a single Saturday)

I am trying to expand our curriculum to include High School students. Id like to do that by guiding them the design and creation of something that can fuse the abstract world of programming with the real world. Arduino/microcontrollers seem perfect for this task, however I know very little about them (and what I do know is informally self taught).

For example, I can draw a full-adder from memory, but don't know what about the physical structure of an AND gate gives it it's properties.

A further consideration is that as part of our institution's mission, students who attend our programs always leave with something tactile from the class. Preferably, Id like each student to leave with a project they made using (and including) an Arduino-based microcontroller.

I looked around to determine if the cost was feasible. The Ardweeny caught my eye at $10 ( board wont let me post link ).

At this point, I am looking to the community for ideas on what I can make, in what period of time, for how much, and how to do it. Also, if you have a science-oriented thing you wish you were taught in high school - please let me know!.

LEDs are nice, but something moving is even better.
Servos are easy to control, so fit the bill well.