Never used Arduino before

Hi folks
Apologies... I'm not a programmer nor an electronics guy but I could use some help please. I bought a diy electronic drum kit from an online electronics store out of Canada. They supply the "brain" and the 6 piezo sensors for each drum (or pad). you have to make the pads yourself. The brain turned out to be an Arduino. So I made the pads and soldered the sensors and wired them into the 6 slots in the Arduino. Now...although the arduino is programmed as a drum kit each pad needs to be configured for Midi.
I downloaded an arduino IDE and opened the sketch for the drum kit. So far so good.
But when I try to upload the sketch I just get a time out and errors. I did a copy/paste of the error and sent it the company i bought this from. It will naturally be next week before i hear anything.

In the meantime..Im reaching out to you guys for any help please. When I open the IDE and use the tool to "Get Board Info" it doesnt know what board I have. And I dont know what board I have either.
Is this why the sketch is not uploading? Do I have to select the correct Arduino from the tools menu in order to upload the new edited sketch? The company "spikenzielabs" dont seem to be too sure themselves what model Arduino I have even though they sold it to me. Great. The only piece of information I can give you is that it is a Atmega328. Im running this on win7 and when I plug the Arduino into the laptop via the usb cable it shows up in device manager as USB serial port com4. I have the IDE also set to com4. Any tips at all in uploading the sketch to the Arduino would be great. Thanks guys.

You may well be in the wrong section here too.

That said a picture is worth a thousand words so if you can include one in your next post that would be great.

Have you got the correct programming port FTDI adaptor or does yours have its own USB connector ?

If its is showing up as COM 4 chances are good you just need to select the correct board type.