New Arduino based home automation concept (Due+Micro)

Hi there!

I am new to the Arduino platform, but I am an experienced professional software engineer with basic skills in electronics and microcontrollers. I am currently planning a new approach to home automation (I think) for my house. I have conventional cabling in my house plus ethernet (Cat 5e) cable running from wall outlet to wall outlet. So, there is no dedicated place for a single home automation central, and i need a decentralized concept. I built the house 10 years ago and I did all electrical installations myself.

My first thought was a network of Arduino Micros, connected by 1-Wire or I2C busses. On second thought, I preferred a CanBus network, which is much more capable and much more robust. To support it on the Arduino platform, I would either need a CanBus shield or an Arduino Due with only transceivers. The CanBus library is currently under development. But those Dues are way to large for outlet sockets.

So I developed a third, mixed strategy: Every room gets a large „head“ controller and small headless peripherals. The head will be an Arduino Due with Touch-LCD (or a cheap Android device), while the peripherals can be Micros or just external Buttons. The controllers will be networked with each other using CanBus. Each controller has one or more peripherals, connected using I2C.