New Arduino:Confused with some concepts

Hi,

I am student and as part of a subject i have to build A4WD1 rover(obstacle detection) from lynxmotion/robotshop. Used college provide kit with Sabertooth 2X10 R/C Regenerative Dual Channel Motor Controller (DE-06) and Bot Board II. Had test code for autonomous operation and obstacle detection using GP2D12 sensors. That kit got damaged because of power surge and bought a new one. But the new one came with Botboarduino controller and everything else is same.I am new to this Arduino and have to convert the same test program in BASIC to arduino executable language(c/c++) I searched online and in most of the robot projects they have connections from servo controller to arduino board and they use those servo pin in program. But with this Sabertooth motor controller only two outputs goes to contoller. I am so confused and am new to this arduino coding. Can anyone change this BASIC code to arduino code.

'Connections 'Pin 16 Jumper to battery (VS) 'Pin 17 Left GP2D12 Sensor (Right facing sensor) 'Pin 18 Right GP2D12 Sensor (Left facing sensor) 'Pin 19 Rear GP2D12 Sensor 'Pin 0 Left Sabertooth channel. 'Pin 1 Right Sabertooth channel. 'Pin 12 A Button. 'Pin 13 B Button. 'Pin 14 C Button. 'Pin 9 Speaker.

temp var byte filter var word(10) ir_right var word ir_left var word ir_rear var word

LSpeed var word RSpeed var word

minspeed con 1750 maxspeed con 1250

LSpeed = 1500 RSpeed = 1500

low p0 low p1

sound 9, [100\880, 100\988, 100\1046, 100\1175]

main gosub sensor_check

; Numbers lower than 1500 result in forward direction. ; Numbers higher than 1500 result in reverse direction.

LSpeed = (LSpeed - 10) min maxspeed ;accelerates the motors RSpeed = (RSpeed - 10) min maxspeed

LSpeed = (LSpeed + ir_left) max minspeed ;when something is detected, this decelerates the opposite side RSpeed = (RSpeed + ir_right) max minspeed