new electronics hobbyist

Hi,

I am new to Arduino and starting to equip myself in electronics parts etc.
For learning electronics ( I know some basics) a friend suggested Boylesdad's electronic devices and circuit theory (have started reading it). I have an engineering and computer science background, so the science and physics behind electronics interests me as well as the design/ tinkering part.

My questions

• I would like suggestions on other quality publications to learn electronics: such as other well respect books and magazines, websites.

• As far as equipment and parts that are desirable in a hobbyist lab, what is desirable to have?

so far I have stuff like

• varied resistors, caps, diodes. Some mosfets, leds, some chips for arduino such as eeproms, i2c stuff, shift registers, arduino starter kit
  • 4 arduinos of different models
  • solder/ iron / wiring / jumper wires / breadboards/ pin headers
  • sensors/ displays / shields
  • basic tools

Best wishes.

I tend to read about the circuit and try to understand it first then order in the parts to build it...

Multimeter; Breadboard; hook up wire;

Etc

If you can afford it get an oscilloscope, it will let you see the electricity.
You also need a multi meter.

A bench power supply with old school analog meters is a great addition especially if the current limiting works well. Digital meters are kinda out of it in that you are trapped by the sampling rate of the digital meter. If the current is changing in a cyclic manner and it coincides with the sampling rate you won't see the variations..
An oscilloscope is kinda mandatory for advanced stuff and a logic analyzer is your best friend for any asynchronous or synchronous communication. I bought a Saleae Logic and it has quickly become my go to tool even clock speeds can be measured.

Doc

I would recommend the website www.sparkfun.com

and de-soldering wire

Docedison: