New ethernet shield appears bricked - noob

Hi guys, complete noob here, have done some looking around and couldn't seem to find anything similar to my problem or how to fix it.

Basically i recently purchased an arduino, arduino ethernet shield and 4 channel relay. for a school project involving automation. when i plug the the arduino into my pc, via provided usb cable, the power led comes on and the default flashing led starts.

however once the ethernet shield is attached and the device is again connected i get no led activation, as far as i am aware it seems completely dead.

now for some more information that i have no idea how to interpret;

• if i have the arduino plugged in, and running the default flashing led, then if i insert only digital pins 0-13 of the ethernet shield while the arduino is on (the ethernet shield is tilted/angled such that only pins 1 through 13 are connected) then i get the LED closest to 'AREF' turning on, on the ethernet shield while all lights remain on the arduino (no idea how to interpret this... seems like a better outcome than completely dead?)

• Under conditions directly above if any of the 'ICSP' pins touch their female counter parts on the shield - all led's turn off and the 'usb eject' noise on my pc can be heard. (appears bricked... to me atleast)

• however if only the ICSP pins are connected (shield reversed such that the ICSP pins can be connected without any other pins being in contact) then the default LED blinking on the arduino stops but the power led on the arduino remains.

Since i really have no idea what i'm doing i understand if maybe some ignorant action similar to my strange troubleshooting above is responsible for the problem. I assume either the shield or arduino is broken but i do not know which... any help would be appreciated

You are trying to do too much at once

Since i really have no idea what i'm doing