New guy

Hey guys

Im a real beginner at Arduino and i have to complete some work for friday. If you could help me out it would be great,

there are two questions:

1) Write a program which reads one character/byte entered at the serial monitor and echoes this back to the serial monitor. There is an example covering this in the language reference.

Extend this program to read a string of characters entered at the serial monitor and echo this.

2)Write a program which displays elapsed time on the serial monitor. Your program should print a message of the form:

Elapsed time - Hours: xx Minutes: yy

At one minute intervals.

Estimate the accuracy of your timer by letting it run for a few hours and checking it against an accurate clock.

As i said it needs to be handed in on friday so it's quite urgent. I know a fair bit of C but i can't get my head around this language or where to even start.

Please help!

Doing your homework for you … isn’t that cheating?

if you used your brain as much as you type you would have this done by now... srsly

you know a fair bit of C yet you can't do this on your own?

why don't you try reading these pages first

http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/HomePage

http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/Serial

http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/Millis

edit: I can write this up in less then ten minutes, you have tell Friday so you have plenty of time. I have faith in you, and that you're smart enough to figure this out on your own.

I wonder if it's one of Massimo's students - he does read these threads occasionally :P

If you search the post titles for serial going back a couple of days, you will probably find some example code I've posted that might be useful.

uhhh - I love doing other peoples homework $)

This should get you though the night:

// Time is money
// Made by turbo910

int yy = 0;
int xx = 0;

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop(){
  for (int i = 0; i<59;i++){
    delay(1000);
  }
  yy = yy + 1;
  if (yy >60){
    xx = xx + 1;