New member with question about multiple loops

Please forgive me if this has been covered before, but I searched to forum and was unable to locate it.

I am new to the Arduino concept, but have done some other programming.

I am currently trying to write a program that will control a few LEDs for a ghostbuster pack.

Let me begin by showing a simple version of what I have:

//internal integers (these are are my internal counter, etc) int safety = 0; ....

//Pin configuration int sw1 = 0; ....

void setup() { pinMode (sw1, INPUT); .... }

So far all that compiles ok. Here is where I get into trouble

I have about 4 or 5 looping sub routines that I want to call. each routine is on its own time base.

What I am used to is to call a single function (i.e startup) and in startup you call each routine. Each routine has it's own loop command to keep it running.

I know it is probably very simple, and I have been trying to go through all the tutorials and forum, but cannot find the answer I am looking for.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Not sure I understand the problem. If your startup function does not return then you can call it at the end of setup or in loop. If you are familiar with C programs, think of a hidden main doing something like:

main() { setup(); while(1) loop(); }

I am sorry if I was unclear. Let me try this.

Here is a programming style I use:

Startup () { saferty() pack() wand() cyclotron() }

Startup is run during boot up, one time. Now each function (safety, etc) has a loop. so Safety would look like this:

Safety() { loop() { delay(500); LED == HIGH; delay(500); LED == LOW; } }

Arduino does not support separate threads of execution. Generally a state machine or some kind of round robin service polling would be used. If your routines are primarily interested in responding to external events then you may be able to use interrupts to do what you want. Perhaps you could say a little more about what you want to make.

I’d be happy to.