New music visualizer idea using MSGEQ7 chip to detect mood and beat

Hi all, I'm a beginner to electronics and I was hoping for a little bit of guidance on my project.

I want to create a music visualizer, similar to a spectrum analyzer, out of a rectangular matrix of LEDs that will react to music similar to the visuals in this video: Kina- can we kiss forever (bass boosted) - YouTube

In my matrix of LEDs I'm hoping to control the "height" that the LEDs light up based off the beat/bass (lower frequencies = base = more vertical lights), the "length" along the matrix will be controlled by volume of the music (louder music = more horizontal lights), and the colour of the music I was hoping to code using a combination of information from the frequency and volume (for example, loud and low frequency sounds would be party music and thus the colour will change to, say, purple or blue). Really crappy idea diagram attached as a .png

My question is, is my idea even possible? Would I need one MSGEQ7 chip to read frequencies and a microphone to read volume intensity? Any feedback/guidance would be greatly appreciated, as I only have a basic grasp of electronics.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post!

matledoublev:
Hi all, I'm a beginner to electronics and I was hoping for a little bit of guidance on my project.

My question is, is my idea even possible? Would I need one MSGEQ7 chip to read frequencies and a microphone to read volume intensity? Any feedback/guidance would be greatly appreciated, as I only have a basic grasp of electronics.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post!

The idea 'sounds' highly possible.

Beginner in electronics, work with a predefined Audio Analyzer module, like a DFR Sound Analyzer module, and a sound module instead of trying to build the devices from scratch.

The MSGEQ7 gives you the intensity of 7 different frequency bands and what you do with that depends on your imagination (and the number of LEDs you want to wire-up, etc.).