New project to automate a rotary drum filter for a fish pond

I am new to this game, although we due currently use Arduino at work so have seen what it can be capable of, but that is the limit of my knowledge. I program in other pc based languages so have a basic knowledge.

I want to use a Arduino to control a rotary drum filter for a koi pond. The filter will use three level sensors with open closed function to determine when to run the system. I then need to open a 12v solenoid valve and run a 12 v DC motor for a period of time, (say 45 secs) till the low level sensor reports back.

Ability to count operations and run default timers will be required.

I would like to add a visual LCD output to the panel so i can see what is happening, plus maybe the ability at a later date for the user to adjust set-points, and a nice to have at a later date would be the ability to send alert e-mails or texts

My question is which of the Arduino's are right for this size / type of project. Does the UNO do it all, or should i go bigger.

Thanks for your help.

Andrew

@Andrew,

I would look beyond UNO because your project is already "extensible" in requirements; traditional scope-creep.

The Mega2560 is a fine workhorse with ample SRAM and Flash memory.. Your task will be to decide on the shields & modules you want to use. You can buy a GSM shield or a GSM module and wire it freestanding or to a shield. You can do the same with LCD and with relay and sensor boards. Mixing and matching correctly can save you time and money and make for a better project.

Spend some time looking at shields, make notes on features and also search for any library issues with a particular shield and Arduino Mega2560. Work the list of multiples down to a short list and again check manufactory's forums and Q/A sites for potential issues. Lastly, post back on this forum your potential selections asking for feedback.

The above will not prevent issues, but should minimize the worst ones.