new project

Hello I am an experienced programmer and I need to develop some software on an Arduino UNO.
The project has 2 parts:
a realtime part which is already written and tested
a non real time part which is to be tested.
the application uses one serial port and we use LINUX for software development.

I need a real debugger (see variables, breakpoints) and not a print function and I cannot use the serial port for debugging since the serial port is used by the application.

I understand this means I need a "hardware kit’ in between my arduino board and my PC . Can you confirm my understanding? Is the ATMEL ICE the right equipment or is there anything newer for a reasonable price?

I also need an IDE. I do not need fancy features for the IDE. Just the possibility to have several modules and load them when needed. I also need to have different folders for tests and software and also for different versions of the software. Is the Arduino IDE OK or should I use Eclipse or another IDE runinng under LINUX?

I thank you in advance for your advices.

I need to develop some software on an Arduino UNO.

Which Arduino? This matters a lot because not all solutions are applicable to all Arduinos.

Atmel ICE is a good choice. Then get gdb ... here are 2 links to get you started:

http://winavr.sourceforge.net/AVR-GDB_and_AVaRICE_Guide.pdf
You might want to look at ddd or nemiver, if you like it more gui-style.

“I need a real debugger (see variables, breakpoints) and not a print function and I cannot use the serial port for debugging since the serial port is used by the application.”

Interesting.

You can flash a LED, use i2c, SPI or a second serial port.

A mega has several ports.

Most here debug small sections of code as they are written then proceed to the next . . .

Sounds like a bit of an enthusiast with an XY problem! :astonished:

I am an experienced programmer and I need to develop some software on an Arduino UNO.