New to Arduino - help converting float

I’m new to arduino programming and my background is in JavaScript.

I’m reading voltage from a sensor on input A2. I need to pass this data into ble_write(unsigned char *).

My question is, how can I convert or cast the voltage float to a value I can send through ble_write? Also, it ‘appears’ ble_write() can only accept one character at a time. Do I need to loop through the digits?

Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated, thanks!

// custom read the input on analog pin 0:
  int sensorValue = analogRead(A2);
  float voltage = sensorValue * (5.0 / 1023.0);
  Serial.println(voltage);

if ( ble_connected() )
  {
    ble_write('t'); // this works
    ble_write(voltage); // this does not work
  }
ble_write((unsigned char*) &voltage);
ble_write('t'); // this works

But that isn't an "unsigned char*"

my background is in JavaScript.

Don't worry - you can still be saved.

Look at dtostrf() for help.

void setup() {
  char buff[10];
  Serial.begin(115200);

int sensorValue = 512;
  float voltage = (float) sensorValue * (5.0 / 1023.0);
  Serial.println(voltage);
  dtostrf(voltage, 8, 6, buff);
  Serial.println(buff);

}

void loop() {}

If you need to send it one byte at a time, try:

int index = 0;
while (buff[index]) {
   ble_write( buff[index++]);
}

I haven't tested the code, but it should work.

thanks econjack!

Why does passing 3.13 into dtostrf give me 3.128055? Is the original float just rounding it up to 3.13, but still storing the original value?
before: 3.13
after: 3.128055

ble_write(unsigned char *).

why would you assume this function only processes a single char at a time ?

If the function really did process a single char at a time, it would use a single byte char argument, not a pointer to a single char, which would take two bytes.

It is much more plausible that the argument to this function is the address of the first element of an array of chars.