New to Arduino. Is this possible

I'm very new to Arduino, having previously had a dabble with PIC microcontrollers. I have put together some code to read the Arduino input pins and send the value to a PC via the serial communications as a string of 1 and 0 dependent on the value whenever the Arduino receives a "READ" command.

However, no matter how fast I send the read command, the maximum speed I can get the reply from the Arduino seems to be about once a second. Ideally, I want to read an encoder and require a speed of at least 100 hZ.

Is there any way of getting the Arduino to send the input values at this speed via the serial communications?

Is there any way of getting the Arduino to send the input values at this speed via the serial communications?

Is there any way for us to know what your program is doing without see it ?

OK, so it IS possible, just needed to set the Serial.setTimeout

can I communicate more than one line of serial data per second, regardless of the code.

The code is important, don't you think ?

SoundsDigital:

I normally communicate at a speed of 11,520 characters a second - using 115200 bps serial. Fastest I think is about 8x that. So unless your lines are ridiculously long, the answer to your question would be "yes".

SoundsDigital:
OK, so it IS possible, just needed to set the Serial.setTimeout

No have you read what the timeout does and where you can use it?
https://www.arduino.cc/en/Serial/SetTimeout
Your code should not be using any of the functions where the timeout is applicable.

But as you keep on refusing to post your code I assume you are not interested in learning the right thing to do.

Well setting the timeout did work for me.

String incoming = ""; // for incoming serial string data
String inputs = ""; //for input string
int I1 = 2;
int I2 = 3;
int I3 = 4;
int I4 = 5;
int I5 = 6;
int I6 = 7;
int I7 = 8;
int I8 = 9;
int I9 = 10;
int I10 = 11;
int I11 = 12;
int I12 = 14;
int I13 = 15;
int I14 = 16;
int I15 = 17;